

## Minutes of the Hopkinsville-Christian County Public Library Board of Trustees October 28, 2019

The HCCPL Board of Trustees meeting was called to order by Vice-President Bart Cayce, at 5:30pm on October 28, 2019. Other trustees present were Tracie Jenkins, Ryann Mabry, Melissa Kempa, Laura Waldron, Sloane Cansler, Joe Leavell, James Adams, and Ollie Dixon. Director DeeAnna Sova, City Representative Amy Craig, and County Magistrate Jerry Gilliam were also present.

Mrs. Waldron made a motion to accept the minutes from the August and September meeting. Mr. Leavell seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Mabry present the financials for August and September. Mrs. Waldron made a motion to accept the financials as presented. Mr. Leavell seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

During public comments, Ms. Diane Wood asked for an explanation on the budget line item for Christian County funds earmarked for Imagination Library. It was explained that while Christian County did provide additional funds for this fiscal year, it was not mandated for Imagination Library. Ms. Margaret Macdonald introduced herself as the incoming FOL President. She asked that the Trustees help to spread the word about the organization to help it grow.

Susan Dunman was not present for the meeting tonight.

Mrs. Sova presented the Director's report and highlighted the Planters Bank's Season of Giving campaign works. She reminded Trustees that HCCPL will be highlighted the week of November 23rd.

Mrs. Sarah Hardison the new Imagination Library Coordinator presented the IL report.

Mr. Cayce adjusted the minutes to discuss New Business before Old Business. Mrs. Waldron from the Nominating Committee presented the nominations for Trustee President and Secretary. Mrs. Mabry made a motion to accept the nomination of Mrs. Tracie Jenkins as Trustee President and Mrs. Sloane Cansler as Trustee Secretary. Mrs. Dixon seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously.

In Old Business, Mrs. Jenkins presented the Disciplinary Action policy with grammatical changes only. Mrs. Dixon made a motion to accept the Disciplinary Action policy as modified. It was seconded by Mrs. Mabry. The motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Jenkins presented the Attendance Policy which included a new tardiness portion as well as an outline of action to be taken if broken. Mr. Cayce made a motion to accept the Attendance Policy as presented. It was seconded by Mrs. Mabry. The motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Jenkins presented the new 32-hour Staff Vacation Policy. After some discussion, Mr. Adams made a motion to change the policy as presented to clarify that personnel are eligible after one year of employment in a 32-hour position. Mrs. Mabry seconded the change in wording. The motion passed unanimously. Mrs. Mabry then made a motion to accept the 32-hour Vacation Policy as it was modified, and it was seconded by Mrs. Cansler. The motion carried unanimously.



The Building and Maintenance committee is continuing to work towards getting the new hot water heaters installed. The Fundraising committee continues to meet and is working on an event in the April/May timeframe.

Mr. Cayce made a motion to add Mrs. Jenkins to the financial accounts as Trustee President. Mr. Leavell seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

With no further items on the agenda, Mr. Cayce made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Mr. Leavell. The meeting adjourned at 6:32pm.

Respectfully submitted, Tracie Jenkins, Secretary